Dinner At Dad’s

I was looking through our fridge yesterday, trying to put together an idea for last night’s dinner, when I realized that our fridge is empty. I am sure Andy would be the first person to tell you that I am a much more pleasant person when my belly is full 😉

Image

I hear you, girl.

So when my dad called me yesterday afternoon and asked if Andy and I wanted to come over for dinner, I reacted in the most rational way possible..

tumblr_m6ws6folLT1ql5yr7o1_400

Andy has been craving deviled eggs, so we whipped up a batch of those, along with my “famous” beer dip, and Caramelitas. I was trying to appeal to the audience, so healthy foods weren’t the first thing on my mind last night. Everything in moderation, right? 🙂

When we got to my dad’s house, I was excited to see this little guy!

Image

My cat Toby lives with my dad, and it’s always nice to see the only cat in the world that I like.

Dinner was a traditional Wisconsin “meat and potatoes” meal, featuring my dad’s famous steaks (he can grill the best steaks I’ve ever had), potatoes, and a delicious salad that I gobbled up before I even thought to take a picture! It was so good, and I was too stuffed to even eat one of my Caramelitas for dessert, but everyone else said they were on point, so I was happy.

Now for the recipes..

Beer Dip

  • 2-½ cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 2 packages Cream Cheese (8 Ounce Packages, Softened)
  • 1 package Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix, 1 Ounce Packet
  • ¾ cups Beer

1.) Combine cheese, softened cream cheese and ranch dip mix in large mixing bowl.

2.) Gradually add beer, and mix until all ingredients are evenly combined.

3.) Serve with pretzels or veggies and ENJOY!

Caramelitas

  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 2 cups Quick-rolling Oats
  • 1-½ cup Brown Sugar
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 2 sticks Butter, Melted
  • 1 jar Caramel Ice Cream Topping (12 Ounce Jar, I Use Smuckers Brand)
  • 1 bag Milk Chocolate Chips (12 Oz Bag)

1.) Grease a 9×13″ baking pan.

2.) Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

3.) In a large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour, oats, brown sugar, salt and baking soda) and mix until evenly distributed. Add melted butter to the mixture, and mix with a wooden spoon until crumbly.

4.) Press half of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan and bake at 325 degrees F for 10 minutes. Reserve the other half of the crumbly mixture for the topping.

5.) After 10 minutes, remove the pan from the oven, and pour the jar of caramel ice cream topping on top of the crust, spreading evenly over the top of the entire crust.

6.) Pour entire bag of chocolate chips over the caramel topping, distributing evenly over the crust.

7.) Sprinkle remaining crumbly crust mixture over the top of the chocolate chips, until the entire top is covered with the crust mixture.

8.) Return the pan to oven and bake for an additional 20 minutes. Top of bars should be golden brown.

9.) After 20 minutes, remove from oven and allow to cool.

10.) Once cool, cut into squares and ENJOY.

They’re not your healthiest recipes, but they’re sure to please!

Andy, Lily and I are heading out for a Saturday 5-miler, hope you all have a wonderful Saturday! See you at lunchtime!

-B

Add A Comment

