5 Mile Interval Run

When I stepped outside this morning on my way to the gym, I was suprised to find that it wasn’t as cold outside as I had suspected. I instantly turned around, in favor of a run outside with Lily for two reasons:

1.) Running outside doesn’t suck as much.

2.) Exercise for Lily now means uninterrupted nap time for Brooke later. I’ll take it.

When I walked back in the door and strapped on her harness, Lily went nuts. She already knows that putting on the harness = run time.

Image

She isn’t quite able to deal with not being able to take off her own harness yet though.. but it’s funny to watch so I’ll let it slide.

Image

We headed out the door for a 5 mile run, that I loosely based off of yesterday’s “Go-To 4 Miler” workout from The Lean Green Bean blog.

Image

The path by our apartment is exactly 2.5 miles to a bench, and my turn-around point, which Lily loves to jump on.

Image

And faceplant on.

Image

The run to the bench and back ended up being just over 5 miles.. perfect!

ImageWhenever Lily gets really excited, she knocks her food out of her bowl for fun.. so you can thank her for that mess. šŸ˜‰

When we got home it was lunchtime for Lily, quickly followed by naptime on the lovesac.

Image

For both of us.

Image

Now it’s time for Subway for dinner and a little Thursday night football!

Image

And by Thursday night football, I really mean naptime #2.

We’re all a little sleepy tonight..

Image

Hope you all had a wonderful Thursday!

10 thoughts on “5 Mile Interval Run

  1. I really like that run workout. And I prefer to do anything over 4 outside. anything over just becomes so long on a treadmill even with music.

  2. That looks like a great way to switch up a run a little bit–gonna have to try this on a run outside this weekend šŸ™‚

    I wish I had a pup to run with. My apt complex doesn’t allow dogs and working fulltime means I couldn’t take care of it anyways! Hope you’re ready to see the Packers slaughter da bears šŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It’s definitely nice to have one and she pushes me to run faster than I would alone! Hopefully you’ll be able to have one someday!

      I am SO excited for the game this weekend.. GO PACK GO!

    • Thank you!!
      I know exactly what you mean! We had to get Lily a harness because she’s all over the place! It took a little while for her to get used to but she’s learning and it’s so much easier to control her squirmy little body. I definitely recommend it!

Add A Comment

