My Dog Thinks She’s Jillian Michaels

Now that the holidays are over, I can no longer blame the hustle and bustle of the season for my lack of running outside with Lily. Sure, it’s still 10 degrees, and for most people that would be a good enough excuse to stay under the blankets, or hit the treadmill in the warmth of your gym.. but not for Lily.

Lily has taken on a new role as my own personal Jillian Michaels. And she is ruthless.

I’ll tell her that it’s just too cold, and she’s like:

IMG_1555

When I try to explain that it literally hurts to run in the cold/wind on days like today she’s just all:

IMG_0500

So after a full morning of harassment, and watching her bring my running shoes, her leash, her harness and her jacket brought over to me, I finally agreed to put on every piece of clothing I own, strap on my Newtons, and take the little whiner out for a 5 mile run, in exchange for the treadmill workout I had planned for earlier in the day.

To say that she was thrilled would be an understatement.

IMG_1569

The plan was to go to a park bench on a trail nearby our apartments, and I got a little nervous once we got to the trail, because the thing was icy. But we were troopers and we stuck with it!

The first 2.5 miles weren’t too bad, and we were trucking along at a pretty comfortable 9:00 mile pace. When we reached the turnaround point, Lily had to climb all over the bench, to the surprise of no one.

IMG_1425

The remaining 2.5 miles were another story entirely.

My sweet little Lily disappeared, and Jillian was back!! Lily decided that she wanted to sprint the entire way home, and with the icy trails, there was really no stopping her.

IMG_1427I kept trying to slow her down, but she honestly was like:

tumblr_mdysyoNqPR1r8ftb1o1_500

We ended up finishing 5 miles in just under 38 minutes.. which I’m pretty positive is a personal best, or at least it felt like it.

As soon as I walked into the apartment, I got the foam roller out and started rollin’. Those legs were jello.

Lily did a quick lap or 14 around the apartment before sitting in front of me and judging me.

IMG_0323

Now it’s time for a little spinach, strawberry, blackberry, orange and walnut salad for lunch. Yum!

IMG_1576

Tell Me: Any fun plans for the day/night?

12 thoughts on “My Dog Thinks She’s Jillian Michaels

  1. oooh yay for winter running and layering up..and freezing and shaking when you get inside – or is that just me?? haha! Great run! What a NICE motivation that is to try and keep up with Lily!

  2. Ha! Lily is such a good personal trainer! You both are troopers for running in that weather. Just looking at that ice makes me want to bury under a blanket.

  3. O.M.G. That is hilarious about your dog! That’s so awesome that you have a good reason to get out and run in the freezing weather lately though. I’ve been giving up on all my runs recently after I had to run through a foot of snow the other day… I need to get me one of those dogs! I have an Italian Greyhound, and while he can run – and fast – he will whine and cry from being cold in like 40 degree weather!

Add A Comment

