Mexico Day 1 Recap

Well, the trip the vet was only mildly traumatizing, Lily made it out alive and only slightly whiney.

She has now taken permanent residence on my lap.

20130116-124208.jpg She’s milking this one.

Lunch today consisted of a ham, arugula and mustard sandwich and a small banana on the side.

IMG_1899

Super simple, but it hit the spot.

For my drink, I had a special treat. When my cousin Lauren and I were younger, we would always order sparkling waters called “Clearly Canadians”.

Has anyone heard of these? They were your average flavored sparkling water, except they weren’t, because they were 264962 times better.

They discontinued them when I was around age 11, and we cried ourselves to sleep every time we had to order a Coke or something not up to our Clearly Canadian standards.

We were a little high maintenance back then. Might still be. Oh well.

Needless to say, when we found these “Clear Americans” at Walmart last year, we were thrilled!

IMG_1900

Sure, they could have put a little more effort into changing the name, but I’ll take it. As long as I can taste it, it’s still a Clearly Canadian to me 🙂

I had a black cherry flavored water, and it was crisp and refreshing! Win!

Our First Day in Mexico

We spent our first day in Mexico in Cancun!

IMG_1589

It ended up being cheaper for us to book our flight a day earlier than our hotel reservations and get a hotel in Cancun for the night than it would have been to fly in the day of our reservations. How could we turn that one down?!

We didn’t have super high hopes for our Cancun hotel, as we were pretty much just looking for a cheap place to stay. When we got there, we were blown away!

The hotel was gorgeous, and they upgraded us to an ocean view suite for free because the room was open!! I was floored by that. It’s hard to get anything for free these days, and our room was gorgeous.

IMG_1593 IMG_1591


IMG_1583

The view wasn’t bad either 😉

IMG_1474

IMG_1588

We checked out the suite for a little while and got settled in before walking down to the beach for a quick 20 minute walk on the sand.

IMG_1595 IMG_1596

IMG_1603 IMG_1605

We also discovered the hotel fitness center. I didn’t use the treadmill, but I could get used to treadmills if this is the view I had from one each day.

IMG_1600

Afterwards, we had both worked up quite a hunger during the day, and we were definitely thirsty for a margarita or four.

IMG_1607

There was a Margaritaville at the Cancun airport, but the prices were outrageous, so when we saw a real Margaritaville on our walk to find something to eat for dinner, we darted in!

There was a giant Margarita on the menu, and Andy insisted that I order it.

IMG_1610

This is why I love that man.

IMG_1608

After a loooong day of travel, it was just what I needed. We ordered calamari for an appetizer before deciding that we wanted to explore a little more before dinner.

IMG_1609 We ended up settling on Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, since it was close and we were both craving shrimp and neither of us had been there in over 10 years.

IMG_1611

We ordered a couple of Coronaritas, because Andy had never had one and I have been slightly obsessed with them after ordering them with a friend at Joe’s Crab Shack over the summer.

IMG_1615

IMG_1614

Shortly after the drinks came, a man came around making balloon animals and gave Andy a little friend named Petey.

IMG_1618

Petey became an important part of our little family that night.. he never left Andy’s side, and after a few margaritas, Andy had a pretty good “Petey voice” going.

I sure wasn’t expecting the meal I got! I ordered the steamed shrimp appetizer as my meal, and chose the olive oil and garlic seasoning as my topping.

IMG_1621

Let me tell you, these shrimp were out of this world good. Andy had a hard time eating his meal, because my shrimp were calling to both of us. We both agreed that if we ever go back, we are just going to order two of the larger sizes for our meals and go to town. I am secretly searching for the nearest Bubba Gump Shrimp Co as we speak.

Tell Me: Have you ever been to Bubba Gump Shrimp? Did you like it? What did you get?

19 thoughts on “Mexico Day 1 Recap

  1. The cold weather outside makes me abnormally jealous of these photos. Looks like it was so much fun. Tyler & I are trying to save up to go to HAWAII next winter or in Dec of 2014… unless I win {…and I suppose starting playing!} the lottery we will go this year.

    Those Coronaritas look delicious. Suddenly I want one while I sit here at work. Hmm.

  2. New reader here! It looks like you had a blast on your trip! You’re pictures are making me nostalgic from when I went to Mexico a couple of years ago. I think it’s time to go back.

    I’m a big fan of Poland Springs flavored sparkling water. I’m going to have to try the Clear American kind.

Add A Comment

