The BEST Hot Cocoa Recipe & Lily Dancing to Rihanna

Over the weekend, our entire house was in recovery mode.

Lily got home from the vet Friday afternoon, and her surgery went just fine! The spay went smoothly with no complications, and she didn’t even end up coming home with a conehead, like Andy and I were expecting.

The vet told us that our biggest struggle would likely be keeping Lily “quiet”, ie: no play, no running, no sprinting around the house and diving under the couch cushions like a lunatic. That man didn’t know how right he was.

Lily is a very active dog, as Vizslas usually are. So when she got home and was all:

IMG_1691 We had to hold her down and “shhh” at her until she calmed down a little bit. She wasn’t a fan.

IMG_1692

She also has been on a rice and chicken diet, vets orders, and she has been acting like even more of a princess than usual now that it takes me longer to make her meals than it takes me to make most of mine.

IMG_1657

She’s really milking this one.

IMG_1661

I woke up this morning feeling pretty icky, and I think I’m coming down with something. That, combined with the fact that the weather is looking like this right now called for something special.

IMG_1693

Not okay.
It’s not looking like it’ll be improving any time soon…

IMG_1694

Do you think I’m going anywhere in this?

tumblr_malx1qczAJ1ql5yr7o1_400 Nope. I’m boycotting Wisconsin, and spending my last day of winter break watching movies and drinking this:

IMG_1690 Hot chocolate, fresh off the stove.

I used my favorite recipe, which also happens to be the recipe found on the back of the Hershey’s cocoa box. Real original, I know, but it’s delicious.

Hershey’s Favorite Hot Cocoa

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup Hershey’s Cocoa
dash of salt
1/3 cup hot water
4 cups milk
3/4 tsp vanilla

“Mix cocoa, sugar, water and salt in saucepan. Stir constantly until mixture boils over medium heat; cook and stir 2 minutes. Stir in milk and heat, do not boil. Remove heat; add vanilla. Stir and serve.”

Sooo yummy! Not the healthiest drink on the planet, but it’s a special treat 🙂

Along with the movies and chocolate, I will also spend the day waiting for the bachelor tonight and making sure Lily doesn’t do any more of this:

This is how Andy and I spent our Fitmixer Boot Camp workout on Friday, trying to avoid dealing with Lily’s newfound Rihanna obsession. Ridiculous, but so so funny.

Tell me: What are your plans for the day? Do you have a dancing dog?

19 thoughts on “The BEST Hot Cocoa Recipe & Lily Dancing to Rihanna

  1. Haha, no my dog does not dance but I wish she did! It is super cold up here too, like -47 windchill this morning. That is COLD. I’m glad Lily did well with her surgery!

  2. I’m going to have to try and make that hot chocolate, especially since I have a box of Chocolate Hershey’s mix at home. Yum! Glad Lily is home safe! I’ve actually never heard of vizslas until I read PB Fingers blog and saw Sadie. I think that would be the perfect dog for me- hypoallergenic and high energy. Plus the cuteness factor is always necessary 😉

  3. That hot chocolate sounds fantastic!
    It was -6 degrees here this morning when I woke up… that’s without the windchill.
    yuck! Glad you were able to spend the day indoors!

  4. -7? I think I’d cry. I can barely handle the weather when it dips into the low 20s. Also, hot chocolate is kindddd of my thing, so yum?!

  5. OHMYGOSH! I could watch that video of Lily Dancing on repeat all day. Cutest.thing.ever.

    When Ob had her surgery I had to ask the vet for meds to keep her calm for a few days. Otherwise, she would have been running around the house like the crazy vizsla she is.

    • That was smart! I probably should have asked for that.. hahah! Thankfully she’s pretty much completely healed now so I’m not too worried about her going all “crazy Vizsla dancing to Rihanna” on me. Ob is too cute! I love that you know exactly what I mean when I describe my crazy Vizsla.. no other breed can compare!

Add A Comment

