In The Words of Duck Dynasty & The Best Roasted Asparagus Recipe Ever

First of all, thank you all so much for the great suggestions about what to do with Lily to keep her from driving me insane when we were cooped up in our tiny apartment today!

In the wise words of the boys of Duck Dynasty..

Image

I ended up going with Melissa’s idea of a game of fetch, but with a twist. In between each time that Lily retrieved the ball and when I threw it, I made her do a trick.

I was like “Lily, do you want to play fetch?” And she was like..

tumblr_megxwuyzuv1qhr01io1_400

This new fetch game wore her out a lot faster than a normal game of catch (as worn out as a Vizsla can be), and actually gave me a solid five minutes of down time before she was back to her normal, spazzy self again. 😉 Thanks Melissa!

Image

After fetch was over, I headed to the kitchen to get dinner started, because according to Phil, that’s what good women are supposed to do.

tumblr_md8unoxVHN1qa6csoo1_250 tumblr_md8unoxVHN1qa6csoo2_250 tumblr_md8unoxVHN1qa6csoo3_r2_250 tumblr_md8unoxVHN1qa6csoo4_r1_250

I am completely okay with this because my first prerequisite for marrying a man is “Can he grill?”, because I may be able to cook, but I don’t ever want to be in charge of a grill. I’m not good with… fire. And coals. And flipping things on time. It’s just not me.

I guess that just makes my list of my 347983247 other prerequisites for marrying a man. I never said I was low maintenance. 🙂

tumblr_mb7zdre7EK1re6wdao1_500

Preach it.

On the menu tonight was my Best Baked Lemon Chicken, brown rice, and something that we have almost every night (I have no idea why I haven’t posted the recipe until right now), the best roasted asparagus EVER.

IMG_1884

It’s about time.

The Best Roasted Asparagus Ever

IMG_1880

Ingredients

1 lb fresh asparagus

1/2 TBS olive oil

1 TBS minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

1.) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2.) Place asparagus on pan and drizzle with olive oil.

3.) Mix asparagus until all spears are coated with oil.

4.) Add garlic, salt and pepper, and mix to coat the asparagus evenly.

5.) Bake 15 minutes, or until tips of asparagus spears are slightly browned.

6.) Remove from oven and enjoy!!

Tell Me:

1.) Do you watch Duck Dynasty?!

2.) What are you having/did you have for dinner tonight? I need new meal ideas and you guys always have the best ones 🙂

25 thoughts on “In The Words of Duck Dynasty & The Best Roasted Asparagus Recipe Ever

  1. I haven’t watched Duck Dynasty but I always pee my pants at all the GIFs and quotes. Tonight, I had an easy dinner of a baked potato and cottage cheese cause I was meeting a date for drinks and I didn’t know what the dinner plan was so I ate beforehand haha. BUT dinner is always my best meal of the day and you can find some fun recipes on my blog 😉 Have you ever thought about adding shredded parm to your roasted asparagus? It tastes AMAZING! Asparagus is my fave.

    I’m also picky because my mom and dad built me up with such confidence and self-awareness that hardly any man ever lives up. #ForeverAlone

  2. duke dynasty cracks me up! i having a quinoa stir fry with sesame tofu and veggies, so excited! haha and i am the same with the grill ! i cant use it at all, it either takes me forever to light it for some reason or i accidentally keep the gas on as it slowly seeps out til its empty, woops! asparagus are amazing, next time they’re on sale i gotta get them (im to cheap to paay 5.99/lb!) and make this ! yumm

  3. I looooove asparagus. That looks so good.

    I haven’t watched Duck Dynasty but maybe I need to start!!!

    My dinner last night wasn’t very exciting…I was working late so I got a sandwich from Panera Bread. Laaaaame. Word on the street is that my boyfriend is cooking some chicken / tofu with basil and mozzarella tonight, so that sounds like a much better meal.

  4. I keep hearing that I should watch DD but haven’t seen it yet. I am loving roasted veggies these days so this asparagus is calling my name!

  5. I have tried to resist it but Duck Dynasty cracks me up every time – it’s just so quotable.

    That asparagus looks delish…making me think I need to step my dinner game up tonight!

  6. Lol I love this post. I’ve heard Duck Dynasty is hilarious but I haven’t watched it yet. Oh and I totally am okay with being in the kitchen while the guy grills! I feel like guys look so cute in front of a grill so they should stick with it while we where our aprons. I’m going to go hide from feminists now oops! 😉

Add A Comment

