Crockpot Turkey Chili and a Tuesday Cardio Circuit

I just wanted to take the chance to thank all of you again for you kind words and prayers about yesterdays post. While I’m still sad and searching for answers, it’s comforting to know that the world is full of good, caring people like all of you ๐Ÿ™‚ Your words mean the world to me, so thank you again for that.

It’s Tuesday, so you know what that means!

peteshrug

Or maybe you don’t, and in that case, it means another “Week of Workouts” circuit is here!

tumblr_me62r9Pxrl1ql5yr7o1_500

Today is all about the cardio, getting that heart rate up and blasting calories! So here you have it!

Image

Here are links to videos showing you how to do all of the moves:

burpees

jumping jacks

skaters

squat jacks

mountain climbers

I know some of you will probably see this and be like, “Um, burpees….?”

tumblr_mervkvioW81rkukelo1_500

And I don’t blame you. That is exactly how I usually feel about burpees too. But I promise you, there’s a good reason that I included them in this circuit.

It’s because they work.

They really do. I completed this circuit today after doing today’s run from my half-marathon training plan. I ended up doing four miles of speed work on the treadmill (I combined Monday and Tuesday’s workouts from my training plan because there was just no way I was in the mood to workout yesterday) and this circuit workout after (I cut out the running) and after I was done, I was tired.

tumblr_me24vfCfOM1ql5yr7o1_400-1

But in a good way!

Let me know what you guys think of today’s “Week of Workouts” circuit!

Crockpot Turkey Chili

Andy and I have been trying to be frugal lately, and after realizing that our fridge was WAY too empty yesterday, we decided to create a meal that would leave us with leftovers forย days,ย and that is where this chili came into play!

We pretty much winged it to create this recipe, and it ended up being completely delicious! I’m already excited for lunch today!

Imageย Ingredients

1/2 tsp canola oil

1 lb ground turkey

1 onion

3 tsp minced garlic

1 (14 1/2 oz can) diced tomatoes

1 can dark beer

2 (6 oz cans) tomato paste

1 1/2 cup beef broth

1/4 cup brown sugar

3 cans chili beans

1 tsp salt

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

4 fresno peppers (chopped)

1.) Pour oil into a large pan, and brown turkey meat with chopped onion and minced garlic.

2.) Combine all of the remaining ingredients in a crockpot and stir to combine.

3.) Once turkey is browned, add to the ingredients in the crockpot.

4.) Cook chili on high for 5-6 hours.

5.) Pour into bowls and enjoy!

If you’re anything like me, you’ll add a few reduced-fat Cheese Its to the mixture for a little crunch.

Image

So, so good.

And now I’m ready for lunch. Oops. ๐Ÿ™‚

ALSO, DONโ€™T FORGET TO ENTERย MY ENERGYbits GIVEAWAYย TO WIN YOUR CHOICE OF EITHER ENERGYbits OR SKINNYbits!! Read the directions and comment onย this postย for a chance to win!! I will be picking a winner on WEDNESDAY of this week!

Tell Me: What is your favorite crockpot meal?

32 thoughts on “Crockpot Turkey Chili and a Tuesday Cardio Circuit

  1. Isn’t chili the best? It is just absolutely meant to be made during this time of year! I love that you included beer in your recipe. That is an interesting twist. And topping it with Cheez-Its? That puts it over the edge!

  2. I’m catching up on your posts today and wanted to start off by saying I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I hope that you and your friends are able to comfort each other in such a tough time.

    Also, great job on your run and circuit workout! I need to incorporate more circuit workouts into my training, but everytime I do my legs hurt for about a week haha…clearly I need to do them more often. I loved how you provided links to the specific workouts because there are definitely a few that I would have googled otherwise.

  3. Cheez its is such a good idea for a topping! Except then I’ll eat the whole box first so I’ll need another box for the soup. As you can see, I have trouble with moderation. First cookie butter, now cheez its. It’s a problem. And I laughed at the little girl gif. Oh man so true!

  4. oh burpees… I can’t even describe my love hate relationship with them! But they always seem to sneak their way back into my heart and workouts.

  5. Burpees are death to me. Tyler always includes them in my workouts and I curse him everytime. But like you said-they work!

    I’m trying to be frugal too. I took a pay cut with a new job and that extra ‘me’ money is going to be greatly missed. A crockpot meal is brilliant. I know what I’m doing tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Add A Comment

