Skinny Garlic Mashed Potatoes and I Am the Phil Dunphy of Speeches

Well… I gave a speech this morning and let’s just say that it didn’t go so well.

tumblr_inline_mh2dbbmoyb1ro2d43

Apparently, those rules don’t apply to giving speeches.

My powerpoint slides got all messed up and then I got nervous and started to ramble on and on about stuff that no one on this earth could possibly care about, as usual. It’s what I do best.

tumblr_inline_mheuyxmUXH1qz4rgp

Oh Phil, I know where you’re coming from.

Anyways, I have a big post planned for you guys after class today, but right now, I need some time to wallow for a while and avoid checking my grade online.

tumblr_lzjfmf7EgI1qkyzt0o1_400

While I’m doing that.. I have a new recipe for you guys!

tumblr_mfn32z85Jz1s1y2deo1_500

Skinny Garlic Mashed Potatoes

skinny_mashed_potatoes

Ingredients

4 medium baking potatoes, peeled

3 TBS smart balance spread

3 tsp minced garlic

1/4 cup light sour cream

1 TBS skim milk

salt and pepper to taste

1.) In a medium saucepan, cook the potatoes in boiling water for 15 minutes, or until tender when pierced with a fork.

2.) Drain the water from the saucepan.

3.) Add smart balance, garlic and sour cream to the saucepan.

4.) Beat potatoes with a hand mixer, until mashed.

5.) Season with salt and pepper.

ENJOY!

Tell Me: What are your plans for the day? What do you do to get over a bad grade?

35 thoughts on “Skinny Garlic Mashed Potatoes and I Am the Phil Dunphy of Speeches

  1. Love the Modern family pics! Phil is so great haha. And when I was in school, I always tried to see the professor when I got a bad grade. That way, you can learn what you did wrong so it won’t happen again on the midterm and it shows the prof that you care. Don’t worry it happens to us all!

    • Thank you! I am definitely thinking about doing that since I had to go first and a lot of the students who went after me had the same problem that I had with the slideshow and got to take time to fix it, which I didn’t! I’m still bitter 🙂

  2. Your grade will not be as bad as you think! It never is 🙂 Well usually not….haha. Today I am babysitting til 4 and then heading home to catch up on my life all night. And watch the special episode of The Bachelor of course.

  3. Definitely loving the Modern Family gifs. One of the best shows on TV! I’m also pretty bad at public speaking. I can do it for a few minutes without a hitch, then I realize I’m speaking in front of people and start to trip over my words and my face turns red, and it’s terrible.

  4. Hahaha all these animated gifs are killing me. Especially the first one. It’s so true 😉
    I actually feel like I always think speeches go worse than I think they do. So maybe it wasn’t so bad? Keep that chin high!

  5. Public speaking is one of my biggest fears! Sorry to hear that your speech did not go quite as planned. I am sure that you will get them next time, though! 🙂

    That skinny mashed potato recipe sounds awesome. I LOVE garlic. Have you ever tried making mashed “potatoes” using cauliflower? I hear it can be quite tasty.

  6. Obsessed with Modern Family! I could watch that show all day long!!! And when I get a bad grade, I try to remind myself that in 10 years it won’t matter! Public speaking was not my favorite class – but it did give some good tips!

  7. Today I’m working, have class, and studying.. exciting. OH and watching pretty little liars! whenever I get a bad grade I usually try to remember that it won’t kill me. And remind yourself that you’re awesome no matter what. Maybe eat some chocolate…or cookie butter, which BTW I purchased this weekend and am in HEAVEN.

  8. It’s hard to get over a bad grade! I apply the same principle to grades I do races, and life in general. You get 30 minutes. You can cry, yell, be totally irrational, whatever you want. But after 30 minutes, you need to get over it. Whether that’s acceptance, or just thinking about something that feels better to you, 30 minutes is all you get. Hope it didn’t ruin your day! And maybe your grade will be better than you expect. Hang in there. 🙂

  9. aww, I’m sorry your presentation didn’t go well.. I’m sure it really wasn’t as bad as you think it was. Chin up, just try to use it as a learning experience and next time I’m sure it’ll go smoother.

    Those potatoes look great, I’m totally going to try making those. I think subbing Greek yogurt instead of sour cream would be a good idea too because then you’d get some protein in there too. Just a thought 🙂

  10. I used to be a HORRIBLE public speaker but had a close professor in ROTC give me tips and now it’s not too bad. I was that girl who was sweating, shaking, and reading so fast you had no idea what I was say.

    Just move on and learn from it. And treat yourself to a glass (…or 4) of your favorite wine 🙂

  11. You know what? I’d pay money to hear a Phil Dumphey speech. In fact, I sit through commercials to do just that. Not necessarily a bad thing, my friend! 😉
    And mashed potatoes are the bomb – yum!

    Hope you have a better rest of the week! x

  12. I just found your blog off of Life of Blyss! My first midterm grades did NOT go well but it totally motivated me to study more, so I know the feeling of getting a bad grade in college! No fun!! Love your blog by the way 😀

Add A Comment

